This is the most important and the most representative of all tumulus ( barrows) which were excavated in Tivat field. It is dated at Early Bronze age in the period from 1900 to 1800 BC. A lot of valuable objects were found in this tomb such as golden dagger, silver axe, golden pendant for the ruler’s diadem etc.
Prevlaka of St Michael (Ostrvo cvijeca- The Island of Flower)
The mosaic from Roman times was founded there. The excavations are still going on as well as at medieval monastery complex of St Michael’s church.
MONASTERIES – CHURCHES
St Michael’s monastery complex
At peninsula Prevlaka there are remains of St Michael monastery which marked one of the most important periods in the history of this area, period from the 9th to the 14th century. Originally here used to be a Benedictine convent and from the first half of the 13th century it was the seat of Bishop of Zeta. It was destroyed by the Venetians in 1452. There are still remains of the monastery which was 21m long and 12,5m wide. In the vicinity of the church to the east The Holy Trinity Church was built by Countess Ekatarina Vlastelinovic.
Island of Lady of Grace
It is situated between Krtoli coast and Island of St Mark, only 200m in diameter. On one half of it there is a monastery complex dedicated to Lady of Grace. It is not known when the first sacral building was built. At the end of the 19th century it became a residence of the Bishop of Kotor. Today it is Jesuitical monastery. The church was restored by the Bishop of Kotor Frano Uccelini-Tica.The Statue of Our lady- Lady of Grace made of wood which is regarded miraculous is one of the most valuable church objects.
St Luke church
It is built on top of the hill above the Gosici village. It is assumed that there originally used to be ruins of Illyrian castle. In written sources the Benedictine monastery from the middle of the 14 century was mentioned. At the site of the present day church there used to be an older building which was enlarged and reconstructed in 1776. Up to the middle of the 19th century it was decorated with paintings. Among the most valuable objects is a priest’s vestment with golden embroidery, a gift of Petar I Petrovic.
St Lady church
It is situated in the centre of Radovici village in Krtoli.It was built in 1843 although it is mentioned in literature in 1594 and 1605. There was probably an older one at the same place. The church has big belfry at the front and there is a clock in the middle of it.
St Jovan’s and St Ivan’s churches in Bogdasici
St Jovan’s church, the older one was once a common church of the Catholics and the Orthodox. The remains of medieval fresco paintings were found in it. The fences of these two churches are adjoining.
St Peter’s church
It is situated on the hill in Bogdasici about 4 km from Tivat. It was originally a Benedictine monastery. One of the inscriptions was written in Old Slavic about building of the church at the time of Neofil (1268-1269), the bishop of Zeta.
Although they are much damaged the fresco paintings are among the best from the 17th century
At the vault there is a composition of the Descent of Holy Spirit to Apostles.
St Srd’s church
It is situated around ten houses at Djurdjevo brdo above the town centre. It was built in the first half of the 9th century and it is important cultural and historical monument. Together with nearby houses it is valuable urban area.
St Anton’s church
It is situated in Kaliman as a part of a summer residence of the Pima family. It is one of the smallest but not the least important. At the belfry arch there is an inscription from 1373 about king Tvrtko of Bosnia. The interior of the church was decorated with the fresco paintings which are much damaged by dampness. On the walls on the right and on the left in three rows 14 coat of arms of the old Kotor noble families were painted.
St Antun Padovanski’s church
It was built in 1734 and together with parish priest’s office and front paved yard it is a social centre of Tipovici.From the hill where it is situated there is an exceptional view of the western part of the Bay of Tivat. In the church there is a painting of St Peter and St Paul by the Italian painter Francesco. Auxiliary altar is dedicated to the Lady of Rarija.
St Mihovil’s church
It is situated in Tivat beside the Buca palace. The church was built in the axis of the former monumental way to the palace with 130 stone columns.
St Mary’s church
It is situated in Gornja Lastva. It was built in the 15th century and it has a stunning position dominating the valley where Gornja Lastva is situated.
St Vid’s church
It is situated above Gornja Lastva at St Vid Hill at 440m and it is the farthest point of Vrmac in direction of Verige. The church was mentioned in written documents in 1327 but according to its position and architectural style it can be concluded that it was build much earlier probably in Byzantine times.
St Lady of Angels
It is situated on a steep rock of a cape in the strait of Verige. It was mentioned in 1585 but it is probably older. Defensive wall with loopholes was built around the church. It used to be a fortress or watchtower to control passing through Verige. According to tradition it is known as Lady of Oriz (Italian sorrizo – smile) because of the smiles on seamen’s faces while they were sailing into their territory.
St Roko church
It is situated in Donja Lastva by the sea. It was built in 1901 together with the belfry. There is a very interesting icon of St Tripun by the famous Greek painter Ilija Moskos. There is also an altar painting of St Roko by Mihaila Floria from Prcanj.
St Sava’s church
It is situated in the town centre. The building of the church began in 1930 and it was completed inn 1968.
Kotor noble families owned the land from Donja Lastva to Gradiosnica at the time of Prevlaka monastery and later at the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century. The number of the houses – summer residences was about 30 according to some sources. People used to settled mostly at the lower parts of the west slope of Vrmac for a long time. The urban core was situated in Kotor so there was no need or conditions for any other urban settlement in this area.
Summer residences were used occasionally and for gathering and processing crop. Those ‘’village” houses at the beginning were points from where they controlled and defended the land as well as for continuation of feudal system. The oldest ones were built like medieval castles with towers, walls and bastions.
MEDIEVAL PALACE OF BUCA SUMMER RESIDENCE
It is a fortified summer residence unique at our coast. It was built more than 500 years ago. The founder of the family Mihajlo Buca and his brother Nikola, who served at czar Dusan’s court, built a medieval castle -summer residence for both rest and defense.
It consists of five buildings: residence house, storehouse, a small church dedicated to St Michael , who was the protector-patron of the noble Buca family from Kotor and porch- multipurpose colonnaded entrance way. All the buildings were enclosed by stone wall like all medieval buildings.
It has been revitalized and today it houses the Tivat Art Gallery.